Because All Good Things Must…

And so, this lovely break too comes to an end. Sigh.

I have to admit that I didn’t achieve nearly as much as I thought I would. On the other hand though, I did the main task, which was to write a book, and I did it faster than I thought I would.

Three months ago, I had a rosy notion that I would spend mornings researching and writing my new book, and in the afternoons I would edit some of my existing drafts. No such luck. It turns out that I really can’t write one thing in the morning and edit another in the afternoon. The writing had me completely immersed in that world, and I must say it was wonderful.

In the past, I’ve never had the luxury of being able to focus completely and entirely on the book I’m writing. I’ve always had something else take the role of Job Number One. It was usually work, but when I wrote the adoption book, it was looking after twin toddlers – and what a Job Number One that is! So this time, apart from the usual, mundane household chores, the fact that writing my book was Job Number One was a wonderful experience. I don’t know if the book has turned out any better for it, but the writing experience was definitely much more delightful.

The book itself is perhaps not quite as way out and fantastical as I would have wanted it to be. I”m satisfied with what it is, but it’s not way out there. I somehow don’t think I can write something that’s completely way out there – like fantasy or magical realism. I’m far too grounded to really let go and fly. Pity, but that’s the way it is. Still, it says all I wanted it to say (I think), and that’s a nice feeling.

On the publishing front, I don’t have much hope for any of my languishing masterpieces. I’ll keep pegging away at trying to get an agent or a publisher, but I’m not optimistic. I’m going to set a timeout and after that, I’m just going to give up on the whole endeavour as a lost cause. Oh well. At least two of them saw the light of day, however briefly. (And there’s always self-publishing to consider. My heart is not in it, but it is an option. Let’s see.)

Meanwhile, my long list of other things to get done while I’m on a holiday just didn’t happen. I did manage to organize the tons of data that I’ve accumulated on scattered devices over the years. You know – 2000-odd photos and videos of the kids, another few hundred photos of recent travels, articles that were published online many years ago and have since disappeared, the only remaining copy now on an ancient hard disk that is on the verge of becoming unusable. I had to rush it over to a data recovery lab where they managed to extract 40 GB of data from it, including photos from the kids’ birthday last year, which I had somehow managed not to replicate anywhere else. I didn’t, however, get around to painting the metal spiral staircase outside, or the lamp posts that line the garden, or polishing the teak dining table, or scrubbing the tiles, or any of that fun stuff. I haven’t even managed to shop for some new music online, which I’m hoping I might still get around to in the tiny sliver of time I have left before the madness of work swallows me up once again.

I did survive two whole months of five-days-a-week yoga, without missing too many classes. On the whole, having got this far, I’m inclined to say that I like it – it is nice, that all-stretched-out feeling. It helps that I can actually do most of the asanas that I’ve tried so far (and of course, I can ignore the ones that I can’t do at all). I’m going to try and keep it up at least three days a week after I resume work… but let’s see how that goes. It is tiring.

And that’s about it. A mixed report card, some good, some not so good. Either way, it’s been a fabulous break. I’ve enjoyed taking a long leisurely hour over my breakfast with a book. I’ve enjoyed being around when the kids get home from school, starting homework at the happy hour of 5 instead of the cranky hour of 6.30, sometimes sneaking off to the library to get us a fresh set of books. I’ve gone through ten books in this break… fabulous!

And now, I’m looking forward to getting back to work… but I know life is going to go back to being crazy hectic when I do. Oh well. It was good while it lasted.

Leave a Reply

