Day 12

Ice cream for lunch. Homemade burgers for dinner, if I can get my act together. And almost zero driving. There are some perks to being at home, after all. I could get used to this.

On the other hand, trying to understand relativity and quantum mechanics at the same time (relatively speaking) is enough to make one’s head spin.

Meanwhile, I’ve been awarded 13K rupees and I haven’t a clue what to do with it. It’s the sort of award where you need to spend the money in order to get it. Huh. I’m fairly hopeless at spending money. I dug out my wishlist and looked really hard at it, but all it said was:

  • Write a book
  • Get all existing books published
  • Write another book

I suppose it is not impossible to spend 13K on clothes, especially if I include the spouse and kids in the lucky recipients. But while it might not be impossible to find clothes to spend the money on, it is completely and utterly impossible to find the kind of time it takes to accomplish this. I mean, just because I’m on leave from work doesn’t mean I have all day to go shopping for clothes.

What’s that? Weekends? Did you say weekends?

Look, don’t even get me started on weekends, ok? I’ve just come out of one weekend and it took two scoops of ice cream with caramel sauce and almonds to recover from that catastrophe. The next weekend is a safe 5 days away. Let’s not think about that right now?

It’s not that it was a particularly stressful weekend. I’ve had worse. In fact, it should have been a fun weekend. We went for a kiddies movie – Minions – and we rounded up some friends so it was 10 of us occupying practically the whole front row. As 3-D experiences go, this one was the best I’ve had so far – at one point something shot out of the screen at me and I actually ducked.

So anyway, the movie outing was fun, and that’s all I have to say about the weekend. For now, it’s back to work.

Leave a Reply

