Going Green

May 27, 2012

Ok, ok, hold on to your hats. You all know that Amit is the one who’s gone green around here – certainly not me! He’s the one installing a composting toilet in the new home, not to mention already composting our kitchen waste, growing organic veggies on the terrace ,and scaring the living daylights out of the kids or anyone else who wastes so much as a half-drop of water.

My part? I’m all for it – I’m even for recycling toilet water – in theory. As long as it’s not in my house. Somewhere else is fine with me, thank you very much. Unfortunately, my better half believes in actually living by his principles and that means we will be (shudder) recycling toilet water and using it to water the vegetables that ultimately end up on our dining table. You might want to keep that in mind next time we invite you to dinner.

All the same, I have decided to make a bit of a contribution to the green revolution around here. I’m not sure how much of a contribution it is, or if it has lasting power or not, but for whatever it’s worth, here it is:

Green Wheels

Green Wheels

Yes, that’s a cycle. Well, I always loved two-wheelers, though it’s easier to love something that moves on petrol. Now this particular two-wheeler actually requires muscle power, so I’m not sure how much I’m going to love it, but well – with petrol prices shooting through the roof and heading for the stars without so much as a stop sign along the way, this is actually more of a financial decision than an environmental one. The idea is to cycle to work – some day. I’m not sure if it will be in this lifetime or not, but if I can work up the courage to do it, it might be. I used to enjoy cycling in my growing up years. That was when I was growing up vertically and anything new was fun, even if it involved physical activity. Now that the growth is all in the other dimension… I’m not so sure.

This cycle entered our family just yesterday and with this, the bicycle component of our family is now complete – each of us has one. I’ve just taken a single spin on it so far, and I have to admit, I’m quite nervous. I don’t know how to turn on it, much less how to do a u-turn. I’m also not very sure how to stop. The starting part, which I thought would be dicey, has been ok so far – all one time that I’ve done it. This creature has gears and I’m a long way from figuring those out. The first time I changed gears, it clicked so loudly and jerked so unexpectedly that I almost fell off!

And then, of course, I have to learn to cope with traffic. I’ve driven two-wheelers for years, to the extent that I often drive a car as though I’m riding a bike – which is to say, I weave in and out of traffic and try to squeeze through impossibly narrow gaps. Now that I have a two-wheeler again, I seem to think that it’s a motor vehicle and therefore cruise insolently in front of impatient cars, forgetting that I am now on a puny bicycle. This is a dangerous strategy.

But even if I don’t end up cycling to work – I’m still happy to have a cycle. After all, why should Amit get all the brownie points for going green?

