Tara and the Whistling Class

I have known how to whistle ever since I was a child. I don’t remember when or how I learnt, but I have the vague impression that I worked at it. Both my parents whistle and even my sister knows how. There was a point when whistling a particular way was “the” way to call one of the dogs. The other two didn’t take to it so well.

I still whistle quite a bit. Despite my best efforts to teach him, Amit never got it. He says his father can, and – what’s even more surprising – that his father tried to teach him when he was small, but he never got it.

Mrini has been trying to teach herself to whistle, off and on. Mrini’s ability to teach herself things, and to work persistently at something till she gets it is quite remarkable, so I expected her to pick it up sooner or later. But the way things turn out it, Tara was the one to get it. She just got it one day, by chance, and having got it, she kept doing it until it was clear that she could whistle at will. Obviously, she was immensely proud of this new accomplishment. Strangely enough, she learnt to whistle in instead of whistling out. Whistling in is not, in my experience, so effective at producing a melody as whistling out is. I showed her how to whistle out but she still hasn’t got it. Mrini, significantly, has stopped trying.

Tara is a sweet, considerate girl. She often does things just to tease Mrini, but, having teased Mrini sufficiently to draw the first indication of tears, she almost always relents and gives in – which usually involves handing over whatever prized possession she has managed to get hold of. So, pleased though she was to be whistling, she didn’t try to flaunt it in Mrini’s face too much. However, she was soon trying to whistle along with songs that we listen to in the car on our drive home. Mrini hasn’t said anything much, yet. And Tara? You know what she has to say about it?

“Mama, now I know how to whistle, can you put me in a whistling class?”

I even did a Google search, but it is as I feared. It broke my heart to tell her – we don’t actually seem to have whistling classes in Bangalore. But I like the way she thinks.

5 Responses to Tara and the Whistling Class

  1. Prakash says:

    Whistling class – so sweet 🙂

  2. Supriya says:

    Prakash’s Dad whistle’s in. 🙂 Can you all whistle with your hands too? Because I tried to learn that a little without much success. It’s a good skill to have. Tara is a lucky girl. 🙂

  3. Sowmya Bharadwaj says:

    Hey Mika,
    So thrilled to hear she wants a whistling class 🙂 I want one too. So the next best thing I could do… Internet lessons 😀 Well you could learn and teach her 😛

    http://www.whistlingtom.com/basic_whistling.htm

    http://www.northernnightingale.com/links.html

    http://www.northernnightingale.com/index.html

    There are some youtube video lessons too, but they are pretty random, you might have to search and select on your own though.

    Hope she enjoys 🙂

    BTW: Glad you are back to bloggin. I love reading them. So please don’t ever stop.

  4. A whistling class – what a fine and novel idea!

    (Here we have whistling competitions, and some amazingly talented whistlers, My Dad was a fine whistler, too; me, I’m only competant, but can stay on key at least. But I’d never enter a competition.)

    Ps – have you tried googling whistling competitions in your area?

  5. poupee97 says:

    Hey, whaddya know, I still have a loyal group of readers and commentators (ok, ok, commenters, if you prefer). Nice to see!

    Supriya: I’ve tried hard to teach myself to whistle with the fingers, but also with limited success. It’s a very useful skill to have, especially when you’re trekking and you’re lost in a whiteout.

    Doug: Whistling competitions – whatever next? Ok, I’ll check it out on Google – though nobody in this family is competition material – at least not in the foreseeable future.

    Sowm: Virtual classes – why didn’t I think of that? I’ll look into it – though I’m not sure it will satisfy Tara’s demand for whistling class, but it’s worth a try. BTW, I’m not – in my opinion – back to blogging. I’m just blogging sporadically – the next post might be a month or two later. So don’t hold your breath.

Leave a Reply

