Six Days to Takeoff

My muse seems to have deserted me this week. It’s probably off catching up on its sleep. No thoughts have been swirling around in my head and no words have been flowing through my brain and out my fingers. It doesn’t help, of course, that my cook came back into my life last Saturday. After leaving me dangling for ten long days, she breezed in as if she had nothing to be apologetic about. Being the idiot that I am, I couldn’t bring myself to completely break up with her. So I told her to think things over and let me know. She took her personal belongings, returned the house key, and promised to call. She didn’t call.

So the week has been a blur of cooking. One evening, I was too zonked to cook a lot. I scraped together a fairly dreadful meal for the kids’ lunch and told Amit to order in dinner. The dal that we got so closely resembled dishwater (or ditchwater, if you prefer) that I realized even ordering in was not really an option. Certainly not at Rs 160 for two servings of yellowish dishwater.

Last weekend, we spent a delightful one hour in Decathlon, drooling over trekking equipment. In the end, we bought only one large tent (our old one being much too small for the four of us), a pair of walking sticks, two self-inflating sleeping mats, a headlamp, a pair of trekking shoes each for the kids, and a compass. There was so much more that we could have wasted time and money on.

This weekend we have to finish packing – and that starts with buying warm clothes for the kids and emergency medicines for all of us. Doubtless when we have bought and assembled everything, we will discover some vital piece of equipment without which we cannot proceed. Most likely it will be a backpack – I don’t think we have sufficient backpacks to carry everything for the four of us. So we’ll probably spend Sunday either driving down to Decathlon again, or fighting over which backpacks to take and how to reduce everything so that it fits in the available number of backpacks.

Meanwhile, I’m trying to tidy up the manuscript of my second book, so that I can send it to my publisher before we leave. I’m about two-thirds of the way through. There’s less than a week to go. And lots of cooking to be done. It’s going to be a long weekend.

3 Responses to Six Days to Takeoff

  1. Amit M. says:

    I was wondering why you had not posted anything for a while. Now I know.

  2. Supriya says:

    Don’t you two talk? The complexity of your trip is making my head spin, by the way. How can you manage to find anything at the right moment when it is thrust deep into your backpack? Sorry about your cook/housekeeper. Hope you didn’t pay her for the days she didn’t come. I hope we can catchup on ph once before you leave. 🙂

  3. poupee97 says:

    Supriya: Talk? Us two? Not really – we’re married. Do married people talk? To each other? Really???

    😀

Leave a Reply

