Any Publicity is Good Publicity

My interview and a brief excerpt from my book was published in Lounge, today.

Most of the people I know who have read my book have said nice things about it. The few who have offered constructive criticism have actually hit the nail on the head in terms of the weaknesses of this book (if you haven’t noticed, I’m not going to enlighten you). Those who’ve been nice have been so whole-heartedly nice… it makes me feel ten feet tall!

It’s also nice, though, to hear from people I don’t know. And the first and only instance of fan mail I received was so wonderful, so unexpected, that it just took my breath away. It was a letter addressed to me care of my publisher, saying that this person had picked up my book while on his way to somewhere, planning to read it on the plane on the way to somewhere else; but he’d flipped through it and found it too delicious to wait. As if that weren’t thrilling enough, it was even more delightful for me to see that he’d been compelled to write and send off a letter to my publisher in the hope that it would eventually reach me! I mean – I thought that only happens to the likes of JK Rowling. If at all. I actually thought it wasn’t something that happened at all nowadays, in this fast-paced internet/email/facebook world.

Now I wish there would be a few reviews of my book in the big papers. That’s not too much to ask for, is it?

4 Responses to Any Publicity is Good Publicity

  1. Andy says:

    Awesome! I’m just reading the interview! I finished reading your book and will be sending you my thoughts on it soon!

  2. Andy says:

    šŸ™‚ Very nice interview Mika! For reviews, find out from your publishers if they have sent review copies to the newspapers. It’s their job to do that. If not, then keep reminding them to courier the copies to the concerned person at the respective newspaper. If on the off chance your publishers don’t know whom to contact, then pick up the phone and call the papers yourself and ask them who reviews books. And then convey the information to your publishers. Harass the publishers first to send the review copy to the paper and then harass the paper to review your book. šŸ˜€ I’m sure it will work!

  3. Amit M. says:

    šŸ™‚

  4. poupee97 says:

    Andy: My publisher is working on it. Ok, I will do some active follow-up, haven’t done that yet.

Leave a Reply

