Movie Review: The King’s Speech

Much to my delight, Amit and I managed to get away for a movie on Sunday afternoon while the kids were napping and the cook was cooking. Our choices were Hall Fall and The King’s Speech and I chose the latter purely because it had swept the Oscars. It’s quite something to be watching a current, talk-of-the-town movie in a movie hall for a change. The last such movie we watched together was Quantum of Solace – yes, it’s been that long.

Anyway, I can see why The King’s Speech is such an acclaimed movie. It follows an infallible formula for success – a simple story, well told. In fact, brilliantly told. The charm of the story is that it is one man’s battle against his own limitation – against his fears, his boundaries. He has one person to help him and guide him and even to challenge him. And they both are men, not young, not handsome, and with nothing else between them except this one battle that they are fighting together. The fact that the man fighting the battle is a king becomes secondary to the battle itself – it could be anyone, fighting their own battle against their past, and trying to meet (or make, or at least take charge of) their destiny.

The acting is superb. Colin Firth expresses in his face and eyes so much of what he suffers in being unable to speak. And all of the others are good too, even the King’s two little girls and Logue’s family.

The lines are superb. I love when Logue calls the kings doctors idiots, and, when the king says they are knighted, smoothly retorts that well, it’s official, then.

The context is perfect. It would have been easy to get distracted by throwing in a lot of royalty into this movie. But they haven’t done that. There’s just enough trappings to remind you that this is, after all, a prince and a king that we’re dealing with; but you never get side-tracked by that fact. I also like the way Logue’s family is shown. They could have skipped that altogether, but it adds so much depth to the movie to have it there. I also like the fact that they end with a small victory. It’s not as if the king became a great orator and delivered a hugely emotional, stirring speech. His was a modest victory – nine minutes, without stammering. That is so realistic, so achievable. So inspiring.

Would I watch it again? Probably not. I’m not sure it would hold my attention a second time round. But if it were coming on TV some day, I’d probably wait for the “they’re idiots” line before I changed the channel. And then, maybe, I’d watch a little more.

4 Responses to Movie Review: The King’s Speech

  1. Anonymous says:

    I want to watch it too. Colin Firth is one of my favorite actors. He was also Mr. Darcy in the BBC series. The subject matter is also pretty interesting. Maybe….one day…

  2. Andaleeb says:

    I’ve been meaning to watch it too. Waiting for Saboor’s exams to get over!

  3. Supriya says:

    That was me. 🙂 My IT guy deleted all cookies. 🙂

  4. poupee97 says:

    Supriya: Your “IT guy”?

Leave a Reply

