It’s Worth a Shot, He Says

The other day, after the book reading in Koramangala, Chris and I walked into Sapna, where Chris picked up 3 of the 7 copies they had of my book. The salesman told us they’d got 15 copies and sold 8 already. That was nice to know – eight people whom I may or may not know had walked in and bought my book. (Or, alternatively, one person may have walked in and bought all eight; but if so, presumably would have bought them for eight different people.)

Of course, eight is a very small number. Not even double digits. A drop in the ocean. But still – at least somebody was buying my book.

Various people I know have bought my book, of course – friends and family. That’s important to me, but in a different way. Unknown people buying my book is thrilling in a different, somewhat inexplicable way. Maybe it’s because it’s only when unknown people buy your work that you know whether your work has a wider appeal or not.

So it was very satisfying to read this review, by someone I don’t think I know. It’s even nicer to see that it’s a pretty positive review.

8 Responses to It’s Worth a Shot, He Says

  1. Prakash says:

    Cool.. remember we bought 3 from Sapna….

  2. poupee97 says:

    Prakash: I know. πŸ™‚

  3. supriya says:

    Good review. The name of the reviewer is the same as that of my younger nephew – shobha’s son.
    And we bought 2 from sapna. So the third one also went to an unknown. πŸ™‚

  4. poupee97 says:

    Supriya: But it isn’t Shobha’s son, is it? He’s too young, surely? (Or am I way behind the times?)

  5. supriya says:

    No, it isn’t him. He’s 10. πŸ™‚

  6. poupee97 says:

    Supriya: Yes, but can you be sure they don’t start blogging at 10 these days? That was what I was worried about. Anyway, I went and checked – this guy is in Thapar, Patiala – obviously not anybody I know.

  7. Amit Mukherjee says:

    Do I know someone who received fan mail from Bahrain :-).

  8. supriya says:

    Bahrain?!! Tell us all about it. Now. Please.

Leave a Reply

