Worth Every Gasp: Book Reading

As you all know, I’m the shy type. I may not hesitate to reveal the inner workings of my life and mind to all and sundry here on this blog, but that’s just my online persona. In real life, I’m comfortable only with close friends, and if I must meet strangers, I’d prefer to take them on one at a time. Any situation which threatens to swamp me with more new names and faces than I can remember (one or two, at most), is to be avoided.

Add to that a generous measure of stage fright and you’ll understand why I wasn’t exactly upset that my book did not get any kind of launch event.

However Sandhya, my friend, erstwhile boss, and one of the facilitators of the escapade that became my first book, has enthusiastically declared that my book shall have a book reading session, organised by the Varnika Book Club. It is obviously intended for members of the privileged club, of course, but she did say I could invite a couple of people. Consider yourselves invited, people. It’s at Boca Grande in Koramangala (conveniently close to Sapna Book House, where those who don’t have it yet can purchase a copy of my book) on Saturday, 26th Feb, 3-4.30 p.m. Block your calendars.

Some folks have complained that my book doesn’t have pictures – and what’s a travel book without pictures? I’ll do what little I can to make up for this by bringing along a selection of photographs as well.

If you’d like to attend, leave a comment on my blog or respond on FaceBook.

And if I don’t recognise you when I meet you, for pete’s sake don’t be offended. I’m not being rude, I’m like that only.

9 Responses to Worth Every Gasp: Book Reading

  1. Malini Balachandran says:

    Hey Mika, just started reading your book and am enjoying it. Great work!

  2. poupee97 says:

    Hey, Malini, I’m glad you’re enjoying it.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I’d LIKE to attend, but something tells me I may not be able to make it.

    Still out of work here and much energy is evaporating uselessly in trying to secure another position. But I’m looking forward to sitting down and begin reading your book soon.

    ps – Good luck at the book reading session. I’m pretty shy myself, much in the way you describe, and if I had to do a book reading I’d probably have a heart attack.
    But I’m sure you’ll do fine. At least the audience will be friendly! πŸ™‚

  4. poupee97 says:

    Anonymous (Doug): Are you sure you can’t make it? Really? That’s too bad!

    I wish you luck with the job hunt. I hope something works out for you soon.

  5. Jiju says:

    I am happy this happened. I was sad that I could not arrange something like that for you. Its really nice of Sandhya and good for you. You won’t do it on your own anyways. Now, this happens to be during my free time on weekends [:)]. So, you might see me there.

  6. supriya says:

    Would like to come. If I can offload sundry baggage to willing/unwilling family members. Hope to see you there.

  7. poupee97 says:

    Jiju: Oh, good!

    Supriya: Great! I was hoping you both might – sundry baggages notwithstanding… πŸ™‚

  8. Prakash says:

    Lets see how we can manage, would love to be there…

  9. Sandhya says:

    Hey Folks

    Hope to see many of you at the book reading tomorrow. Anamika has promised to bring some photos and show them.

    πŸ™‚
    Sandhya

Leave a Reply

