It’s a Pain in the…

…knee.

That’s the tragedy I was referring to in my previous post. Tragedy is a strong word for a little, niggling, nagging, clicking sort of pain.

But then again… Amit had a pain in the knee and that kept him away from the tennis court for three whole years. I saw him struggle with three years of restlessness, three years of boredom, three years of building up muscle to support the tendon.

Whoever has gone off the tennis court in our circles due to some little, niggling pain in an arm or a leg, has rarely made it back. We are, after all, neither young, nor professional. I don’t even know yet what is wrong and how long it is going to take to fix it. The whole prospect of starting yet another round of doctor’s appointments is depressing beyond belief.

It’s already been three weeks since I played, but the little, niggling, clicking pain is still there. At first, I was (stupidly) optimistic that a week or two of rest would take care of it. But now, I just don’t know.

Tennis has been a wonderful thing in my life these past five years. It has motivated me to get up early and get out there. It has motivated me to do at least a bare minimum of exercise to keep moving. It has (probably, hopefully) prevented my weight from shooting up even faster than it already has done and has (probably) helped to keep my cholesterol numbers in a very healthy range. It has been a good companion to me, especially in the days when I was a SAHM and it was practically the only time I got out of the house on my own.

It can’t possibly be time to say goodbye.

4 Responses to It’s a Pain in the…

  1. Arun says:

    this cannot be a permanent problem! there is this usual exercise..bending the knees little and rotating them..on & opp direction..doing this often for few mins for every few hours in a day will help the tiny little muscles to get stronger! Doctors do suggest strange options..even surgery at times..dont believe them!

  2. poupee97 says:

    Arun: I didn’t quite get the exercise you mentioned. Any website explaining it? Yes, the docs suggested surgery for Amit, but finally one doc advised against it and now he’s better and back to tennis… but it took three long years!

  3. Arun says:

    no..its just that usual work out..you stand on both legs..bend the knees little and rotate them..change direction for every 10 rotation! even i could not find a proper website to explain the same.

  4. poupee97 says:

    Arun: Ok, then I know the exercise you mean. Let me try.

Leave a Reply

