37

37. 37. Hmmmm….

Ok, after thinking it over for a bit, I’ve come to the conclusion that 37 doesn’t feel so bad. After all, it’s still only my age and not my waist size. That’s pretty good, right?

30 came as a bit of a shock. It was quite a wrench leaving the youth and innocence of 20 behind. 30 seemed quite over the hill; almost old. But, strangely enough, it was all about anticipation. When I woke up the day after turning 30, nothing was different. It didn’t seem to be such a momentous thing after all. I was still me, still learning, still shaky, still a teenager in my mind. I hadn’t suddenly, overnight, turned into a stand-on-my-own-two-feet kind of person.

30 was certainly a wake-up call. It looked like a deadline for getting all sorts of things done. Or at least started. So the run up to 30 worried me quite a bit. But it was good, because I began to actually work on the things I really wanted. 30-35 were my “go get it” years. I went on the journey that would become my first book. I had my two kids, against all odds. I started a certificate course in archaeology. I drove a 150 cc motorcycle for almost 10,000 km. I learnt a bit of German. I left work and I went back to work.

So 30 was the time when realized that I had to I yank my life off the track it had been sauntering along for far too long, and pull, push, and heave it on to the track I wanted it to be on.

From that perspective, 37 looks good. I don’t feel life is passing me by. I don’t feel I’m not working on the things I want to be working on. I don’t feel so young and unsure any more (which is good) and I don’t feel old, yet (which is even better). I’ve got most of the things in my life arranged the way I want them and I am now in a place where I can afford to sit back and enjoy the ride for a bit.

What could be better than that?

4 Responses to 37

  1. Prakash says:

    Really rocking 30s and you are going strong..

  2. poupee97 says:

    Prakash: 🙂 I hope so!

  3. Arun says:

    you havent driven your 150cc bike out atleast on a weekend trip..so that doesnt count!! 😉 still, you have a Civic to drive Goa…do it before you hit 40!! 😉

  4. poupee97 says:

    Arun: Me? Drive the Civic to Goa? Amit won’t even let me drive it 14 km to office! He’s selling it because he’d rather some other female driver put scratches on it that he can’t see, rather than me put it and then he has to see it! So that plan will have to wait till I save enough to buy a Civic of my own. 😦

Leave a Reply

