The Stay-at-Home Holiday

If anyone had told me that I’d take a nine-day vacation someday to just stay at home and relax… and that I’d enjoy it… I’d have said they were completely off their rocker.

But that’s what we did – and I did enjoy it. Totally!

The first few days of the holidays, my parents were here, so that was fun, of course. After they left on Tuesday, we still had the better part of a week to relax, unwind, and catch up on all the little bits of life that get left out the rest of the year. When we’d planned this stay-at-home holiday (or rather, when we’d realized that we hadn’t planned to go away anywhere), I had put together a long list of things I wanted to do during this time.

  1. I have 3 issues of the National Geographic magazine to catch up on
  2. I haven’t filed, sorted, and uploaded photos since May
  3. I haven’t read the book on Hadrian’s Villa that I bought in Italy; or any book, come to that, apart from Archaeology text books that are so successful in putting me to sleep
  4. I have to run down a couple of cheque payments that went astray and now require the whole stamp-paper-indemnity-letter runaround
  5. I haven’t been for a movie since I don’t know when; it would also be nice to get away for a meal or two with Amit without the kids
  6. I would love to have more time to play tennis
  7. I want to take the kids swimming – they have been asking for the longest time, but there’s never enough time!
  8. I could really use a sleep holiday – when I get to sleep right up till the time I wake up naturally

Of these, I achieved only 1 (partially – one issue is still left untouched, and no, that’s not the January issue, I haven’t got that yet), 2 (in the last few hours of the last day of the holiday), and 8. And I read one book. One. (Henning Mankell – heard of him? I hadn’t.) Agenda items 4, 6, and 7 were non-starters. As for 5, we did manage a couple of meals out together by packing the kids off to daycare, but the only movie we saw was Hidalgo, on TV – and that too, on New Year’s Eve, no less.

I’d hoped to at least catch up with many friends in the long break, but we didn’t even manage to do that. In fact, between the day before Christmas and the day after New Year, we didn’t have a single social get-together. This, at precisely that time of year when everyone is meeting up with everyone else and partying like there’s no tomorrow. All I wanted to do was stay home, relax, drink some more beer and/or wine, cook something simple and not too unhealthy, and go to sleep early. So that’s what we did and it was really nice!

I honestly don’t know where the rest of the time went. There were days at a stretch when I didn’t so much as turn on my laptop, even though it was sitting there on the desk and looking at me dolefully. It was most refreshing. I don’t think I’d want to do this again in a hurry, but it was definitely been a happy experience. Who’d ever have thought that staying at home could be just as enjoyable a holiday as going out somewhere?

4 Responses to The Stay-at-Home Holiday

  1. 101dreams says:

    Glad you had a good break 🙂

  2. Prakash says:

    Reading the post itself is very relaxing. I am glad you had a very relaxing end of the year.

  3. supriya says:

    It is a wonder how you have a ready list of things for all occasions. 🙂 Good to hear that the last few days of last year were relaxing and stress free for you. Happy New Year!

  4. poupee97 says:

    Supriya: Oh yes – a list for every occasion, that’s definitely me! 🙂 Happy New Year to all of you. Hope it holds a lot of good things in store.

Leave a Reply

