Getting Ready for 2011

The end of one year; the beginning of another. As always, it’s a time to look back and look ahead; to take stock, measure, and reflect. It was generally a good year for me.

  1. I went back to work. Technically, I started that in 2009, but with only a handful of working days in 2009, the achievement of holding down a job still lies in 2010. Now, after one whole year back at work, it really feels like some kind of a milestone, to have been able to hold down a job and still keep the house running more-or-less smoothly.
  2. I signed a contract for getting one book published and wrote another two.
  3. I went on a short but sweet holiday to Italy.
  4. I managed to send off my Archaeology assignment, thus bringing my fifth module to a close. I honestly didn’t think I’d manage to squeeze that in!

Yes, it was a good year. The only thing I’m not happy about is that I gained 5 kilos! But well… you can’t have everything your way.

As I’ve done in recent years, I looked at the goals I’d set for this year in January 2010. Then, I went a step further and looked back over my goals of the past several years and how I’d measured up against them each year. It was an interesting exercise.

January 2007

  1. Lose weight
  2. Improve at tennis – specially backhand!
  3. Go back to playing the violin
  4. Take the next level of German course
  5. Stop doing dull, boring, meaningless work and get involved in something meaningful – or at least exciting
  6. Make at least one new friend
  7. Read at least a book a month
  8. Watch at least two movies a month (at a movie hall)
  9. Travel
  10. Get a publisher for my travel book
  11. Create a photo book

January 2008
I’ve made absolutely no progress on numbers 3, 8, and 10, and only limited progress on number 2 (but not for want of trying).

In 2008, I want to:

  1. Lose weight
  2. Improve at tennis – specially backhand!
  3. Go back to playing the violin
  4. Complete another two modules of my online Archaeology course
  5. Work on a compilation of my existing travel articles for a website, book, or series of freelance articles

January 2009
I think I’ve made some progress on all of these, which is good enough for me.

In 2009, I want to:

  1. Lose weight (this has been on every list I’ve ever made since I was 15. Some things never change.)
  2. Keep playing my violin, no matter what
  3. Get a job, preferably one that lets me work flexible hours, partly from home, provides challenging work, and pays well (in that order; oh, is that asking too much?)
  4. Be as patient as I possibly can with the twins

January 2010
Uh-oh. I didn’t make it – not even close – on 1 and 2. And 4 is kinda doubtful too. But yes, I managed 3! There were a few false starts, but now I’ve finally got a job that I think I’m going to like. And so, in 2010, I want to:

  1. Forget trying to lose weight.
  2. Forget trying to get my books published
  3. Forget getting back to playing my violin regularly
  4. Forget studying archaeology

All I want to do this year is:

  1. Keep my head above water at work
  2. Avert any major household crises
  3. Spend as much time as possible with the kids (without losing my temper)
  4. Remember to smile – this is (mostly) the life I wanted

January 2011
The four goals I wanted to “forget” at the start of 2010 were things I wanted to do but didn’t think I’d have time for. So it’s that much sweeter to know that 2 and 4 on that list have worked out! And so have – to varying extents – the four more modest goals in the second list. 2010 was a good year.

In 2011, I want to:

  1. Excel at work
  2. See my book(s) in the bookshop – one should certainly happen, but if all three can come out by year end, that would be fantastic.
  3. Complete my Archaeology course
  4. Exercise more
  5. Get enough rest and not be tired and short of sleep all the time (looks mutually exclusive with 4 and 5!)

Happy New Year, everyone!

5 Responses to Getting Ready for 2011

  1. […] Getting Ready for 2011 « The Twins & I […]

  2. Zee says:

    Hello and a very happy new year to you too! I am a silent reader of your blog and enjoy reading your posts a lot. I am just curious to know about the ‘losing weight’ issue(something which I have been struggling with since times immemorial), as it has been mentioned so many times in this post. Doesn’t playing tennis in ANYWAY help you shed a few pounds?

  3. poupee97 says:

    Zee: Nice to meet you! 🙂 Playing tennis should help you to lose weight, and, since it doesn’t seem to in my case, I can only guess that it is preventing me from putting on “even more” weight! Sigh. 🙂

  4. Prakash says:

    I have the same issue of weights, even running an average mileage of 30-35 Km a week has not made any dent on my weight. I have not lost a single Kg in one year :-). May be it is time to count calories now..

    Hats off to you to accompalish so many things in a year. All the best!

  5. poupee97 says:

    Prakash: Really??? I thought you had lost weight! You mean to say, you haven’t? That’s terrible!

    But you can console yourself with the thought of how much you are driving down your bad cholesterol and keeping high blood sugar at bay, at least.

Leave a Reply

