So Much Better

I went for tennis yesterday after almost ten days of not playing. And I felt so much better! I only played about half an hour, but I didn’t feel like I would collapse at the end of it. And today there’s hardly a hint of stiff or sore muscles in my legs. Last time I played I was so stiff and sore I could barely move for two whole days! And yesterday my game was much better too. Partly that’s because Tennis Sir played with me and he can really regulate the game so that it’s just right for your abilities that day – neither too fast, nor too difficult, but just difficult enough to make you have to stretch yourself a bit. But… I played with Sir last time too, and my game was, in his words, “erratic”. Yesterday, it was beautiful – we had several 20-shot rallies and even Sir said I had made “zero errors”. I came away feeling that maybe, just maybe, I could play tennis. I haven’t felt like that for a long, long time. Last time, I seriously thought I should give it up… at least for a while.

What’s even better is, today’s Friday. Usually that means I drag myself out of bed feeling exhausted. Today I jumped out at 6 a.m. and went for a walk!

Well, what do you know? That doctor who was so extremely disinterested? Maybe he knew what he was doing after all! – despite the attitude.

And who would have thought that a couple of vitamins could make such a difference to one’s energy levels? Not me, for sure! I told you how ridiculous I felt going to a doctor because “I’m tired”? Now I feel even more stupid, because I probably should have done it long ago. Thank you, Chris, for providing the impetus I needed.

While I’m pleased and hugely relieved at having my energy levels bounce back like this, I’m slightly worried about what will happen once I stop popping pills. Amit has been persuading me to go to a homeopathic doctor, and other friends have mentioned Ayurvedic doctors. Despite the popularity of both homeopathy and ayurveda, despite the number of people who have been miraculously cured by these systems when allopathy failed, despite the number of skeptics who have been “converted”… I’m still highly skeptical. But I have to admit that after several months of allopathic medicines for a gastric problem, I’m beginning to think that, after all, what do I lose by trying out “alternative” medicine.

But first, I’ll try out the holiday treatment. That should prove highly therapeutic, I expect.

3 Responses to So Much Better

  1. Arun says:

    if you dont believe a doctor for his vitamin tablets, i dont believe him for his paracetamol for the 100 types of bacterias that he wouldnt have heard at all! ..and for the cough/diarrhea/fracture/cancer etc! I believe that the science we have today is just ‘trying’ to boost our system to fight than fighting back itself like what we assume! We could hear from biking groups where people say how they killed their fever pain just by sitting on bike and kept moving! Basically, when you are in trouble, you do what you like most..and you will be OK!

    btw, gastric as i heard(old belief), comes in a combination of long time stress & eating habit! ..and dont you think you have scope to work on it? 😛

  2. Doug Helms says:

    Hi, Mika. I haven’t been to your site here because well, for one thing, I forgot how to find it!
    Then I remembered to look through my bookmarked sites and there it was.

    I’m surprised you’ve never heard of chronic fatigue syndrome. Its very well known here in the states, and they’re still trying to determine a cause and a cure.
    If Indian doctors have a cure for it, maybe someone over in this part of the world should ask them to share!
    A friend of mine’s daughter has had a severe case of it for several years. She has to restrict her physical activity to 3 or 4 hours a day, after which she becomes exhausted.

    Glad that you’re feeling better, though, and that things are looking up. I’m sure you’re excited about your upcoming trip to Europe. (I certainly would be, never having been there. And I’d love to visit so many European countries.)

    Well, glad to have located your site again.
    Next time I’ll know how to find it.
    Take Care,
    Doug

  3. poupee97 says:

    Hi Doug,

    Welcome back! How have you been? I missed your comments over the past so many months. I think you’ve not been very active on your space either, so I just assumed you were too busy. Or something. Happy to have you back. Next time, just Google Mrini+Tara and it will lead you right to this blog. 🙂

    Gosh, can chronic fatigue be that bad? Mine didn’t get that bad, though it was progressing in that direction. Thankfully I went to see a doc before that. I was basically given vitamins and a tricyclic antidepressant called amitriptyline, in a dose much lower than what is prescribed for depression. The course ends tomorrow, so let’s see how I feel after that.

    Yes, I’m really excited about my holiday and hopefully that will make all the tiredness disappear. Hope you get to go there some day soon too. 🙂

    Take care.

Leave a Reply

