Stage Show

It’s a big day for us today: the twins are going to be on stage, for the first time ever.

This show is organized by their daycare/summer camp organizers. It looks like being a big but well-planned event. We’ve received several notices so far telling us what to do. It’s going to be at one of the biggest halls in town. Of course, it is at the other end of town, but what cannot be cured must be endured.

Luckily, it is not the sort of thing that requires me – the hapless mother – to do much. We had to take the kids for an extra “practice” session for an hour on Saturday. Yesterday they were provided their costumes, which I was supposed to take home, try on them, and alter. Fat chance of that! They have to arrive at the venue at 4 p.m. already dressed in their costumes, so that means I have to leave office at 3 (or ideally a little earlier) and pick them up from daycare. I wish daycare had provided transport, but this they haven’t done. So when I pick them up, they should be already dressed in their costumes. Great, because that means that their daycare aunties get to get them dressed and “dolled up” – the notice mentioned something about makeup! I don’t do makeup myself, what will I do for my under-four girls? I hardly just about can manage to tie two almost-symmetrical pony tails on one little head.

What I can do is to take photos, so I’ve got the camera along, the proper, big camera, no mobile phone photos for this event, thank you. Hopefully I’ll get a couple of good shots before they get whisked off by the organizers. Apparently, parents are not required backstage at all. There are going to be 15 daycare centres participating in this show, and each centre might have about 20-odd kids, so that’s 300 kids between 2 and 6 years of age under one roof! And they don’t want parents backstage!?!?! I’m not sure whether that’s a smart call, or plain crazy.

So anyway, I drop them off in charge of their summer camp aunty and then I’m persona non grata until the show starts at 6. I’d love to sit in the audience and watch the “technical” rehearsal. I’d love to see the chaos that 300 kids can cause. I’d love to know how the organizers are going to keep 300 kids in fancy dress in presentable shape for two hours till the show starts and another two hours till it ends. But I’ll probably just get to sit outside and stare at the wall.

The kids are, of course, very ‘interested’ in the whole proceeding. They brought pom-poms home from summer camp one day and provided us one solid hour of fantastic entertainment by dancing and singing and waving them around. If their stage dance is going to be anything like that, it’s going to be a riot.

4 Responses to Stage Show

  1. Christina says:

    Good luck… And have fun!! 🙂

  2. Supriya says:

    What fun! Wish we could have also seen it! Enjoy and tell us all about it later. 🙂

  3. Prakash says:

    Look forward to the next update and pictures how exciting

  4. Sadia says:

    I can’t wait to see pictures!

Leave a Reply

