Signed

As you all know, I have harboured ambitions of becoming a published author for the longest time. Ever since I was 5 or so, really. At last, it looks like I might actually get there.

Back in 2005, I went on this long solo trek in the Himalayas. You’ve heard me talk about it, but you’ve never actually heard the full story have you? That’s because the full story forms the basis for my book, which I’ve called “Worth Every Gasp”. My book has been searching for a publisher – sporadically – for an amazingly long time. And now, at last, it has got a nod from a publisher. And in addition to a nod, it has even earned me a publishing contract – which I signed and sent off happily last week.

So, sometime in the next two years, my book will hopefully hit the shelves. Unfortunately, it takes that long… It would of course be so much nicer if it took, say, a couple of weeks or so. Or even a month at most. But the good things in life come slowly, so one must wait patiently, I suppose. Not that patience is a virtue I have acquired yet.

Meanwhile, I brought my second book, about the adoption of our daughters, up to date, and sent it off to the biggest publisher you can think of. Rejection will probably follow… but one must try and one can only hope. Cross your fingers, toes, hair, and eyes for me, pretty please! The adoption book is really a good book and one that really should be out there.

8 Responses to Signed

  1. 101dreams says:

    Congratulations!!!! …And good luck on the next one 🙂

  2. Supriya says:

    Wowie wowie!! Amazing news! But 2 years? What a long wait. Many congratulations. How many cakes are due now!

  3. poupee97 says:

    Chris: Thank you, thank you. 🙂

    Supriya: I’ve stopped counting… 🙂

  4. Prakash says:

    Wow great news, will we get a signed copy 🙂 I cannot count the number of cakes I am due…

  5. Sadia says:

    Anamika, how exciting!! I love the way you write, and I can’t wait to lay my grubby hands on your book, once it’s out.

    Congratulations!

  6. Prakash says:

    By the way, in my defence I did not see Supriya’s and your comments on the cake… Looks like both of us are only thinking about cakes!

  7. poupee97 says:

    Prakash: Of course I will sign it for you! 🙂 But don’t get carried away, all of that is a long way away…

    Sadia: Thank you. 🙂 I’ll make sure you get a copy, but don’t hold your breath.

  8. […] it took another several months of delay and despair before I suddenly and altogether unexpectedly got a contract […]

Leave a Reply

