Lunchtime Conversation

The girls are talking so wonderfully these past few months, it’s almost agonizing to think of all the things they say and to not be able to capture them. But here’s one example.

Mrini: I’m a strong girl. I’m stronger than you!
Me: And you’re bigger than me too!
Mrini: Yes! If I eat all my food, I’ll be big and strong!
Tara: And then I’ll wear a watch. And a bangle too. Like you.
Me: Ooookkkkay (scratching head, figuratively). But you’ll only get the bangle when you get married. (It’s the one that Bengali women wear when they get married.) Do you know what married means?
Tara: Yes, it means I’ll get a bangle, like you!
Me: Yes, but do you know whom I’m married to?
Mrini: To the bangle.
Me: No… see… who is my husband?
Mrini and Tara: Baba!
Me: Yes, and that means I’m married to Baba.
I named some other couples and checked their association of “husband” “wife” and “marriage”. They got it. Ok, now for the next step.
Me: Girls, when you grow up, whom do you want to get married to?
Tara: Me Mrini married.
Me: Mrini is your twin sister, you can’t get married to your twin sister. And she’s a girl. You have to get married to a boy, because you’re a girl.
Mrini: S Uncle!
Me: (trying to hide my amusement and shock) Oh, he’s already married, you have to get married to someone who’s not married yet.
Tara: Baba
(Incest!)
Me: No, Baba’s married to me. You have to find someone who is not married. (Preferrably. And in any case, not your dad, please. Forget about Freud.)
Mrini (getting the idea at last): B&B
(Polyandry!)
Me: What, both of them?
Mrini nodded her head happily.
Me: Well, usually you get married to only one person at a time.
Mrini (decisively): Ok, B (the smaller twin).
Me: And you Tara?
Tara: (The other) B.

Hmmm… Pity that B&B just left for distant lands and we have no idea when – if ever – we will see them again. 😦

3 Responses to Lunchtime Conversation

  1. Prakash says:

    They chose bong boys :-)… no worries for you 🙂

  2. Supriya says:

    😀 I would say lots of worries for you since they chose Bong boys who without their mother’s strong influence will become true blue bong boys (let me not enumerate their sterling qualities here).
    But oh so interesting. It is unbelieveable that the girls now talk and communicate so lucidly. Lovely years these. Today when we were going to the nearby temple, I asked Pragya where we were going. She replied sagely, “Minitaya”. 🙂

  3. poupee97 says:

    Prakash: Do I strike you as being the type to worry if they chose boys other than bongs? Or even, for that matter, if they chose girls? (Well, actually…) Your better half actually is closer to the mark… I might worry if they choose bong boys. But, well, there’s time yet, for them to change their minds a few times. 🙂

    Supriya: We have to make them meet more often. Now how do we do that??? Let’s pick a halfway point.

Leave a Reply

