If It’s Broke… Don’t Fix It

That seems to be Hyundai’s motto. I sent my car for servicing and told them that two things were broken: the windshield wiper (somebody flicked the blade while we were in Calcutta! Nasty *%&$%@*#); and the switch of the cabin light (or overhead light or the light that’s supposed to come on when you open the door). Apart from these two minor problems, I just wanted a routine servicing. It was, as a matter of fact, the second free service for this baby, who’s only just six months old. The latter problem (the light switch) should not even have happened in a six-month-old vehicle. (The former problem should never happen, no matter how old. What could anyone want with a windshield wiper blade???)

My car was delivered back in spotlessly clean condition. Everything looked ok, so I paid up and sent the chap away. It was only late at night that I found that absolutely nothing had been done about the light switch; it was still broken. Damn, I thought, I’ll have to call them to get it fixed. I’ll jolly well make them come and pick up the car and drop it back free of cost.

So I called. I was told that the light switch hadn’t been fixed because the part wasn’t in stock. The “assembly” would have to be changed. It would cost me 1500 bucks. So they had done a “temporary” fix.

I was in shock. What temporary fix? And why should I have to pay 1500 bucks for a simple little plastic light switch that had no business breaking when it was less than six months old in the first place?

I asked for the manager’s number, then I decided to call the Head of Servicing. He directed me back to the manager. In fact, he said he’d speak to the manager and ask the manager to call me, but when did Service people ever start actually calling a disgruntled customer? When I called, the manager had been briefed by both the service engineer and the head of servicing. He had all the answers. A Hyundai engineer had seen the problem and declared it to be not a manufacturing defect, so not covered by warranty. I vented some ire on him, politely, and got him on the defensive by asking why I hadn’t even been told any of this to begin with. And, of course, I ended by asking him why I should have to pay big bucks for something which shouldn’t even be broken in six months. I added, for good measure, that I’d never had any such silly problem with my old car even after eight years! Which was absolutely true, apart from the little matter of the axle falling off while I was at the wheel.

Anyhow, he put me on to somebody in Chennai, so I called and fired that guy as well. That fellow said he’d speak to the manager and ask him to call me back. I gave the guy several hours, then called him again. By now, apparently, I’d fired enough people, so they decided I was a nuisance. “We’ll replace the part as soon as we get it, possibly next Monday,” they told me. They probably think I’ll forget all about it by then, but they don’t know me

8 Responses to If It’s Broke… Don’t Fix It

  1. Supriya says:

    Go for it, girl. If you like I’ll add my bits by calling a few people. I can do this well too. 🙂 Prakash says – put a review in mouthshut. It is widely read. I would also suggest go to the service centre and create a ruckus.

  2. Prakash says:

    Cheats…. Send Amit 🙂 he is good at this!

  3. poupee97 says:

    Prakash: Good idea! 🙂 But hey, even I’m getting good at it.

  4. poupee97 says:

    Supriya: Hopefully a telephonic ruckus will do the trick.

  5. Prakash says:

    Now we have two people to bank on!

  6. Siri says:

    You go, Mika! Keep up with those people. They probably play this game and most people probably give up.

  7. poupee97 says:

    Update: They fixed it… all that venting over the phone did the trick. The service shop manager called me on Saturday to say I could come in on Sunday or Monday morning and it would only take 15-20 minutes. Free of cost, of course. It eventually took about 45 minutes, but I suppose it doesn’t get any better than that, so it’s not worth mentioning.

    Still – first they say it’s not covered by Warranty and then if you shout at them, they replace it under Warranty without having really seen anything to change their minds? That doesn’t appear very professional to me.

    Sadly, it’s the way things work, most of the time – create enough noise and they’ll agree to whatever you want just to shut you up. If I did that with my kids, I’d have never-ending and wildly escalating demands from them all the time. My luck that they don’t use the same logic on their customers.

  8. Prakash says:

    Great to hear… was waiting for the update.

Leave a Reply

