Brain Dead

That would be the most appropriate description of how I’m feeling right now. It’s not necessarily a bad feeling… but it’s not great either. It’s sort of like lethargy, combined with ennui. Not exceptionally tired – no more than usual; not exceptionally bored – no more than usual of that either; but just a little too much of both so that there’s nothing to do that seems worth the effort of doing. And that includes blogging.

I suppose I’ll come out of it eventually.

Meanwhile, could anyone out there tell me if, in casual conversation, someone said a particular movie was “nice” or “good” – would you implicitly recognise the difference? Or would you think of it as just two different ways of saying the same thing?

3 Responses to Brain Dead

  1. Supriya says:

    “Nice” would mean – nothing particularly objectionable about the movie was found by the audience. A good time was had by most who chanced to be part of it.
    And “good” would mean that this particular audience enjoyed it to the point of being slightly stimulated by parts of it.

    I would think there would be a difference between the two. But would that person?

  2. Sadia says:

    To me, “nice” isn’t worth watching, while “good” is something I’d make an effort to watch, if I ever watched movies. But of course, there are dialectal differences, and I think I now speak Texan.

  3. poupee97 says:

    I tend to agree a bit with both of you. To me, “nice” means good-fun, watch it if you’ve nothing better to do; “good” means – watch it. Get it and watch it. Probably more than slightly stimulating.

    The reason I asked is, because I told Amit a particular film as “good” – then changed it to “nice”. He said, to him there wasn’t much of a difference, and he doubted that anybody would make a distinction in casual conversation. So I thought this is a good (not nice) way to check. 🙂

Leave a Reply

