So Long, Unicorn, And Thanks For All The Fun

The world consists of two kinds of people, as I’ve had occasion to note before: two-wheeler riders, and others. The others might be car drivers, auto drivers, truck drivers, bus drivers, pushcart drivers, even pedestrians; but if they don’t have a passion for two-wheelers, they are ‘others’.

I’ve been a happy two-wheeler-ist since I was 18. My parents did me the favour of teaching me to drive a car, and then scraped together their savings and dipped in to my education fund to buy me the best automatic (I mean, gearless) two wheeler available in those days: a bright red Kinetic Honda. I practically taught myself to ride, and in a week, I was driving myself from Panchkula to college in Chandigarh, much to my delight. (Now that I think of it, my parents must have been incredibly brave to let me do this.) Back then, I remember, 3 litres of petrol cost Rs 50 and lasted me a week. The good ol’ days…

That Kinie came all the way to Bangalore with me after marriage and saw us through a few adventures here before I was forced to sell it. It broke my heart to see it go, but, back then, we were moving to the US, possibly for good (which, in those heady days, meant anything from one year to one generation or more).

When we returned from the US, I bought a Scooty. This trusty steed served me well for many years, and I finally sold it only in 2006, when I already had my new bike and didn’t need it any more. It wasn’t working too well by then, but the colleague I sold it to was so delighted to finally get her own set of wheels, she didn’t mind. Besides, I practically gave it to her.

The new bike, a Honda Unicorn,29052009019 was a motorcycle, something I’d been dying to ride ever since I went shopping for my first two-wheeler at the tender age of 18. So I was over 30 when I finally got it. So what? I loved it the more for having had to wait so long. (I’ve written lots about it already, so I’ll try to keep this short.)

While I was working, I rode the bike to office and back – about 20 km return every day. That was fantastic. Looking back, and looking at traffic the way it is now, I’d have to admit that it might not have been very safe (my ever-present helmet notwithstanding). But at the time I didn’t see anything risky about it.

When I stopped working, and after the kids came, opportunities to ride the bike were few and far-between. Too many times, I had to take it out just to take it out and keep it running. Then, maintenance became an issue: vehicles hate to be kept standing and deteriorate alarmingly quickly. I should have sold it months ago, before it entirely stopped working, but it’s difficult to listen to good sense when your heart isn’t in it.

And now I really don’t have a choice. Most of my driving will now revolve around the kids and Amit is adamant that they will not sit on a two-wheeler until they are 18 – at least. So the bike hardly ever gets to go out. Now the battery has died completely, which makes taking it out a real chore, having to kick-start it everywhere.

So I finally did what I should have done long ago: I put it up for sale. At the same time, I took it for servicing: it might as well be in working condition when it goes. Buyers are coming to look at it over the weekend. I still don’t want to part with it, but now I really, really should.

By Monday morning, I expect, it will be gone. And then, I will no-longer be a two-wheeler-ist – ever again; I’ll always be just one of the ‘others’.

5 Responses to So Long, Unicorn, And Thanks For All The Fun

  1. Supriya says:

    Never say never. You never know. You may become a Che Guevara once you retire. I will certainly read your diaries even if I haven’t read his. 🙂

  2. Arun says:

    oops..!! My beloved Fiero with 85K Kms of sweet memories & mad trips with a bone breaking accident, its gone just this Sunday!! …with a 25rs liquid polish i gave him an hour of sentimental/tearful last attention and he came back to life all glittering and fetching me few more thousands than what he deserves in market.. 🙂 with me taking him to JC road, finishing the deal in under 20 mins and coming back home in an Auto with a strange mindset with eyes on a vacant stare!! ..and here you and your Unicorn!! 😀 I was actually thinking of suggesting you taking kids to school in your bike since you were worried abt traffic in your recent post but i didnt know you would feel insecure!
    It must be a hard decision and its the best 150cc bike in indian market till date!

  3. Lubi :) says:

    Honey, my retirement plans include a Harley Davidson 😉 God-willing!!

  4. 101dreams says:

    Awww… That’s sad… But, practical I guess…

  5. Anonymous says:

    I’ll get you a BMW one day 🙂

    Amit

Leave a Reply

