Chocolate Surprise

It was Saturday afternoon, everyone else was asleep, and I was bored. So naturally, my thoughts turned to food. Lunch was done, and quite a mundane affair it had been too – rajma-chawal (baked beans and steamed rice). Something sweet would have been in order, but nothing had been at hand, other than fruit.

I went and rooted around in the kitchen. I seemed to have cocoa powder, milk, and sugar, but no cornflour, so I couldn’t make a blancmange. There was some icing sugar, though. And some eggs. Maybe that would do.

I poured an arbitrary amount of cocoa powder into half a litre of milk and set it on the stove to boil. Once it had come to a boil, I sieved in all the icing sugar I had. That made the mixture marginally sweet, but not thick enough. I boiled it for a while, but it still didn’t look like it was going to thicken sufficiently when it cooled. So I took an egg, separated the white, and mixed the yolk into the sauce. Then I heated it some more. Now it looked a bit better, but still not very thick. I was aiming for blancmange, but it didn’t look like I was going to get there on this route. Oh well. I mixed in some raisins and raw chopped cashews, and added a spoonful of instant coffee for good measure and left it to cool.

Then, I took out my set of six cup-cake moulds, greased them lightly (which might not really have been required), and poured the batter into five of them. When they all reached room temperature, I put them in the freezer and left them for a few hours.

And Voila! It wasn’t ice cream, it wasn’t blancmange, but it was something gooey, chocolatey, and eminently edible. The ones right at the back of the freezer had started to freeze when we consumed them, so they had a very interesting texture, a bit thick and frozen at the edges, and a bit thick and gooey in the middle.

Yummy! And so quick and easy!

Sometimes, I’m so inspired I surprise myself.

5 Responses to Chocolate Surprise

  1. Supriya says:

    I live with a permanent complex thanks to you.

  2. doug H says:

    Yum. Sounds tasty!

  3. poupee97 says:

    Supriya: Why?! You’re the dosa expert.

  4. Supriya says:

    Dosa? Hardly needs an expert to make one. Specially when the batter is out of a packet. 🙂

  5. Lubi :) says:

    🙂

Leave a Reply

