Puzzled

When we were in Binsar last month, I carried a large, 20-piece, floor puzzle which was invaluable in keeping the kids entertained on those cold, dark evenings. Of course, they couldn’t actually do the puzzle – not even close. The first couple of times even I had to work quite hard at doing it. (And if you have any uncomplimentary thoughts about my intellect or my visual-spatial skills, go ahead, leave a comment, that’s what blogs are about, right?)

Anyway, I didn’t expect the girls to get anywhere with the puzzle and I didn’t tell them to do it either. I just left them to it. They loved putting the pieces together in random order, and once in a way I’d help them to do it right and they enjoyed seeing it done.

But it took them a lot less time than I expected to get it. Now they do it with elan, and in very little time at that. I was wondering whether they had perhaps memorized the overall picture (a collection of farm animals), but it seems that they have just figured out that various different parts of the animals go together in the appropriate orientation to make whole animals. So I got them another jigsaw puzzle, a small one of only 5-6 pieces, and they got that one right away. Wow, they’re smart.

I loved doing jigsaws as a child, and I kept at it until quite an advanced age, so I’m pretty pleased that they enjoy it too. Plus, it keeps them happily engaged – and working together – for 20 minutes at a stretch. So they’re puzzling away and they’re happy and I’m happy.

6 Responses to Puzzled

  1. Sadia says:

    My girls were the same age when I realized that could do puzzles. My husband and I do a puzzle to ring in the New Year every year, and it was incredible to have the girls join us with their own puzzle this year. Well, they didn’t stay up until midnight, but we did let them stay up until 9:00.

    They still love puzzles. All of Jessica’s plans for her father’s return involve doing all of her puzzles with him. All that varies is the order in which the puzzles will be tackled. πŸ™‚

  2. Siri says:

    Sigh, I’ve never been very good with puzzles. But it sounds like the twins enjoy it and for them to stay occupied for 20 minutes certainly seems to indicate that.

  3. doug H says:

    I had a wooden, hand made puzzle as a small child. Spent hours playing with it until it got too boring.

    Later I grew to hate them. Especially the ones with about ten million pieces. I’d eventually wind up forcing them into place, and when they were finished you could’t tell what they were supposed to be.

    But to return to the topic, yes…….the fact that your daughters are able to piece together puzzles of that size at their young ages definitely indicates a high degree of intelligence and spacial reasoning.

    That’s really cool.:D

  4. doug H says:

    πŸ™‚

  5. Lubi :) says:

    Masha-Allah πŸ˜€ that’s awesome!

    Hugs to your twins & you πŸ˜€

  6. Hoomimani says:

    brill site this poupee97.wordpress.com terrific to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

