Snapped

Ok, I finally snapped. One of my team members called me to say she can’t do this work and I just let off and screamed at her. For about 5 minutes, straight.

It didn’t help that she was the second person to ditch out on me bright and early, right before breakfast, on what should have been a very busy morning.

It didn’t help that this is – what? – the third? time she has ditched out on me in this project and I really should not even have given her this third chance except that I’m such a sucker.

It certainly didn’t help that she’s also a friend of many years. Who’s going through depression.

It didn’t even help that there’s a mountain of dirty laundry that needs to go in the washing machine, only, we’ve run out of detergent and I’ve not had the time, energy and presence of mind to go get some.

None of this helped, but still… I should have kept my cool, like I always do. I should have taken it in my stride. Re-allocate. That’s what this job is all about, anyway.

But I snapped, people, and I’m not happy about it.

6 Responses to Snapped

  1. Supriya says:

    It hasn’t happened too soon. I am surprised you held on for so long. Snapping does help sometimes. But only after the bad feeling of having snapped goes off, I guess. 🙂 Reallocate some to me if you need to.

  2. Siri says:

    Yikes, Im glad I wasn’t at the receiving end 🙂

  3. poupee97 says:

    Siri: You betcher! Though, you never were, were you? You were pretty dependable.

  4. doug H says:

    Forgive yourself and move on.
    Everybody snaps at one time or another.
    (Although personally I find it easier to forgive others than to forgive myself. I still regret snapping at a telemarketer once. She started out sounding chipper, and I pretended that I was HAPPY to get a call in the middle of dinner. She seemed pleased. Then I let go with the anger and told her to make a notation to never call this number again. I could tell by her voice that she was genuinely hurt, and became very contrite. But I was still angry and slammed down the phone.
    Poor thing. It was probably her first day on the job. That happened about 3 years ago, and I still haven’t forgiven myself for it.
    Still, forgiving yourself and moving on, and perhaps making a mental note to try to not do that again is the best advice I can offer.

  5. poupee97 says:

    Hi Doug: Yeah, sigh. Got to move on. But see… she’s also a friend.
    I know what you mean about the telemarketer. Poor thing. It’s a lousy job to begin with, and then you get to call people like Amit – he gives it to them so badly it makes my insides shrivel up and go black. They’re just trying to make a living.
    But yeah, you have to move on… she’d probably forgotten about it a month later.

  6. Lubi :) says:

    Darn!

Leave a Reply

