Work. Life. Balance?

Ok, so I got the dream job, the one that lets me work flexitime from home, pays satisfactorily, is challenging and stimulating (in a manner of speaking) and ideal in every way. So now my life is perfect, right?

Sigh. Right.

To keep pace with my work, I have to work late many nights. Last Sunday I put in several hours in the afternoon, evening, and night. Even when I’m not actually working I’m getting calls on my mobile phone. I don’t have time for any of my other interests, and only a little time, about 4 hours, for the kids. And none at all for Amit.

And I’m tired all the time. Last week I was so tired, I skipped tennis one day. Today, I just didn’t hear the alarm on my mobile phone and it must have been ringing for one minute every five minutes for a whole 45 minutes before I woke up feeling disgusted.

On the other hand, this job has many plus points, apart from the income. I’ve lost that ‘what am I doing with my life’ feeling and regained a sense of confidence in my professional skills and the ability to earn money. I have a place to call office, and I go there about once a week. I meet a lot of people, many of them electronically, some telephonically, a few face to face. I have something to think about and talk about other than the kids – in fact I seem to talk about work more than about the kids and I think of it all the time, I’m practically obsessed with it, I even dream about it.

So, is it a good thing or a bad thing to be back at work? That’s a question I haven’t made up my mind about yet, but what I can say is that, though it lines the pockets nicely, it is also, literally, a pain in the neck.

6 Responses to Work. Life. Balance?

  1. Lubi :) says:

    😀

  2. doug H says:

    Well, like most things in life, it seems to have both positive and negative aspects.
    Eating too much good food makes you overweight.
    Suffering increases your capacity to empathize with the suffering of others.
    And I think most jobs have both their positive and negative sides. Perhaps even all of them do.
    So, it’s both good and bad.

    But for the moment it sounds like, despite the fatiguing aspects, that you’re enjoying it more than you aren’t. I’m happy for you.

  3. Andaleeb says:

    As someone who has been doing this for a few years, let me say that there are times when I feel like giving up everything and just becoming a housewife like everyone else I know. But the thing is, I’ve been doing something all my life, I cannot go back to that and restrict myself to that sphere again.

    So, in your situation, hang on, stick with it, and even though there will be pain in the neck (and butt from sitting so long in one place :D)in the end it will be worth it. We women always need to define who we are ourselves, in stead of letting society and family define it for us, like she’s a mother, or she’s a wife, or a homemaker. Whatever it is, it’s important for all of us to have an avenue to express what is inside us and I am glad you have found a job that lets you do it. The tiredness and exhaustion are part of it, but that’s all right I guess?

    One thing however is…why are you working on Sundays? Even if you’re working from home, Sundays are sacrosanct, unless its an emergency. Its difficult to lay down ground rules but even if you’re working from home, you should try and set a few timings so that you don’t work too late at night or on Sundays.

  4. poupee97 says:

    Andy: Thanks! As for Sundays, well, it’s just the way things work, because we have to send out deliverables on Mondays… plus, since I don’t work regular hours anyway, I don’t feel the sanctity of Sundays to that extent. But I’m trying to regulate my working hours a bit, so that I’m not so stressed.

    Doug: Yes, on the whole I think I’m more happy than not, to be back at work.

  5. Deeply Flawed But Trying... says:

    Welcome to the glass ceiling. Having exactly same difficulty, decided to quit work a few months ago, go back to uni- but finances mean return to work imminent. I hope you find the balance for you!

  6. poupee97 says:

    Hi DFBT: I ended up quitting that job. And I’ve given up the idea of trying to work for at least another year. I don’t know that I will manage to even then, but at least I’m not thinking of it till then. I’m beginning to think that it is pretty impossible to find a real balance; it’s more about finding the least insane, most practical imbalance.

Leave a Reply

