Complete Chaos

We’re leaving for Binsar today and it’s complete chaos in my neck of the woods.

I started working on Monday – and what better day to start work than on your birthday? Well, actually, I started working a few days before that, but I took Monday as the formal start date for myself. Which was really nice of me, because my contract actually dates from 12 Feb. Which is strange, because I’m out of town till Feb 19. But well, these things even themselves out, so why bother.

So I’ve now been working full time for three whole days, and it’s killing me. Well, it’s fun… in a way. Amit says he hasn’t heard me laugh this way in a long time. But then, it’s that half hysterical laugh which says: I’m way stressed out but I can’t cry right now, so let me giggle like a lunatic for a bit and see if that makes it any better.

Anyway, in the midst of a flurry of emails (200? 300?) and F2F meetings requiring a 20-minute drive each way, AND a late night telecon with the US, I haven’t got anything in the way of packing done. And we’re going to be spending three nights on a train, and going from warm, hot Bangalore, through cool, cool Delhi, to what is supposed to be a pretty cold Binsar, which, moreover, has no electricity.

So I’m sitting in the study surrounded by mountains of clothes that need to be packed into numerous backpacks that are evidently too few and too small for the mountains that are supposed to go in them. The girls, for some obscure reason, have a holiday at playschool today and are shouting for my attention.

And what, exactly, am I doing here ignoring them steadfastly? Packing? Working? Meeting important people?

No, I’m blogging! No wonder it’s complete chaos over here.

8 Responses to Complete Chaos

  1. Supriya says:

    Admirable – that you can actually concentrate and write a cogent funny piece in the midst of all this. Maybe you were able to put it in perspective because you wrote about it and then were obviously able to finish packing in time enough to leave. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. rocksea says:

    We are surprised and very happy to have found you out from the indiblogger site, through the adoption tag. As you can see from our website, we have done some research and articles on adoption in India. I am yet to go through the details and stories in your website. You have provided a lot of insight into the adoption in the real world. Meanwhile, have a look at our adoption articles and do comment if you have any suggestion. The articles can be easily accessed through the category: http://www.rocksea.org/category/india/adoption

    cheers, Roxy

  3. entisar says:

    Hey, good luck and bon voyage. Im sure we will get to see the photos after you get back so I wont ask for them ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. doug h says:

    When you get to Binsar, show everyone a flashlight.

    They’ll think it’s magic, and make you Queen of the City. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. doug h says:

    ps – with no electricity, what do they use to power their computers?

  6. poupee97 says:

    Supriya: What makes you think I finished packing?

  7. Lubi :) says:

    lolololololololololololololololol

  8. poupee97 says:

    Doug: Would you believe, solar power? No, I’m not joking. They really do run their one computer with dial-up internet connectivity on solar power three hours a day. So much for flashlights, huh?

Leave a Reply

