35. Old?

Turning 35 didn’t worry me half as much as turning 30 did. Maybe that’s because 35 is only half a decade, only half a turning point. Maybe it’s because there are fewer things left undone now – now that we have kids, I mean.

Whatever it might be, turning 35 has been a relatively painless experience.

Not entirely painless, however. I took my bike out for some small errand nearby, and on the way I dropped it. It was completely stupid and unwarranted and I felt quite angry with myself about it. But I scraped my elbow and my knee and bruised my hip and my ego and as I moaned to Amit about all the pain, I thought: Maybe I am getting too old for this.

Nonsense, of course, but some things do hurt.

3 Responses to 35. Old?

  1. Lubi :) says:

    awwww…here’s a hug from me, Lubi-size 😀 to make ya feel betta!! 😉

  2. doug h says:

    Speaking as one who’s had a lot of nasty bike falls, I can sympathize with you. Ouch. (And I was a lot younger when all of mine occurred.)

    Oh, and 35 is still quite young. It’s all relative, of course, but 40 seems to be the age when things start taking a lot longer to heal, and 50 is generally recognized as the most traumatic birthday.

    BTW, in this country you’re considered to be a certain age, 35 for example, after you’ve completed a year. (i.e., you don’t turn one until a year after you’re born), but in others you’re considered to be that same age when you’re just entering it (i.e. – a newborn baby is considered to be “one.”)
    How do they do it in India? (It makes a difference in Chinese astrology, because if you were born in ’74, you’re a Tiger, but ’75 would make you a Rabbit.)

  3. poupee97 says:

    Doug: we count in completed years too. And, as you mentioned earlier, we women sometimes have difficulty counting as the years go by… But I’m not that old yet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

