Coffee Break

There’s nothing like a cup of filter coffee when the sleep hits you around 3.30 in the afternoon. And it’s even better if there’s someone around to make it for you. Isn’t that what husbands are for? (Oops – that’s a whole different topic, don’t even get me started on that!)

Amit (in the kitchen making coffee): Help!
Me (wondering what can possibly go wrong in the making of a cup of coffee): What?
Amit (plaintively, helplessly): I don’t know what happened to your coffee; I poured the water in and it all went right through. Can’t you do something to fix it?
Me: Like what?
Amit: I don’t know. Pour it back over the grains again, or something.
Me (opening the top of the filter and peering in suspiciously): What grains? There’s nothing in here. You forgot to put the coffee powder.
Amit (opening the bottom of the filter): No, I didn’t, I swear. It just went right through. See?
Me (investigating the murky fluid suspiciously): Well, that does look like coffee… But how…??? Aha! You idiot!
Amit (belligerently): What did I do?
Me: You put instant coffee into the filter!

And I distinctly recall suspecting, as I poured the filter coffee into its jar, that he would one day do something very much like this. When I said as much at that time, he dismissed the idea grandly. “Oh, no chance. They look different, they smell different, I’d never get them mixed up,” said he confidently.

That was a very short never.

4 Responses to Coffee Break

  1. Siri says:

    HA HA!! But I do agree- that is what husbands are for. Mine makes me Indian Chai now, complete with cinnamon and cloves, a dash of milk and sugar etc. Aaaah the sweet taste of being served.

  2. Lubi :) says:

    sigh…jaane kahan gaye woh din…

  3. AM says:

    Siri,
    Just you wait. I am going to put chilli powder in your tea when you come over πŸ™‚

  4. AM says:

    Siri,
    Just you wait. I am going to put chillii powder in your tea when you come over πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

