Wining and Dining Without the Twins

Well, we made it. Everything went according to plan, for once.

It started with Amit coming home early from office. I had baked him a cake so we cut that first, with the kids participating enthusiastically. Then I grabbed an hour to go out and actually get him a gift, something I hadn’t been able to accomplish thus far. It can’t be called a ‘surprise’ gift, given that he knew where I was going and why, but it was the closest thing to it that I could manage, and in one hectic hour, at that.

I got back, and we both got all dressed up and got to S&S’s place by 6.45. We gave the girls dinner, which they mostly rejected (as expected) and milk, which they largely spilt (not expected and extremely annoying) and let them play for an hour or so after that. Then we put them to bed. Amit told them that we’d be going out, as the books recommend, which made Mrini look worried but seemed to have no further adverse effects. After waiting ten minutes to ensure they were asleep, we left and were at our table at the hotel a little after 9.

Amit wanted to call S&S right away, but I stopped him. Thereafter, I didn’t worry about the kids too much, and I think he soon forgot to worry too. Of course, the bottle of wine that we went through rather fast contributed to that, no doubt. We had a raw fish salad to start with (this is Vietnamese cuisine) which was absolutely fabulous and I can hardly wait to go back there and have it again. Unfortunately, the place is so ruinously expensive, that it might not happen till next year. The main course was a chicken curry with steamed rice, and by the time we got through it we were both so drunk that we had to take serious steps to sober up before driving home. Amit spent some quality time in the rest room, washing his face and admiring the scenery, while I decided that the wisest thing to do would be to order a dessert. A chocolate and coffee mousse was duly served and consumed, and by then we were verging on sobriety. At some point I gave Amit his gift, which he seemed to be happy with. I think there was some conversation during all of this, but I have to say I don’t remember too much of it. Perhaps ordering the whole bottle of wine was a mistake – a glass each might have been more judicious.

But what the heck – our first outing in over a year as a twosome without the kids, I’d say it was a complete success.

6 Responses to Wining and Dining Without the Twins

  1. Andaleeb says:

    🙂 Happy belated anniversary! Glad to hear it went well and also from the previous posts that the twins are adjusting well in the playschool! Good for them and for you! I have a very tough time ahead of me because Az is very clingy.

    Which place did you go to, the restaurant I mean? And did you pick up the kids later that night from S&S’s?

  2. Lubi :) says:

    Anamika, I need your Email ID…need to ask u something…can u pls email me at Lsayed75@gmail.com thanx !!

  3. Siri says:

    Awesome!!!! Sounds like a great evening and hey, like you said, your first successful outing so it definitely deserved a bottle of wine. 🙂

  4. Thinker says:

    Any time my husband and I go out without our twins it is a celebration and a lost on an island feeling simultaneously. It is a different experience to raise twins, isn’t it?

  5. poupee97 says:

    Thinker: if you mean different compared to raising one kid, I wouldn’t know. But if you mean different compared to life without kids? You betcher!

  6. AM says:

    It was great driving back with that indescribable feeling of weightlessness. All that wine, what bliss!!

Leave a Reply

