I Hate Elections

Actually, I hate politicians. All of them. I think they should all be lined up and shot, the entire lot of them. Even the ones who try to appear decent and good are lousy and corrupt, only they’re actually even trying to cover it up.

So naturally, when it comes time to actually pick one of these rascals to run the country, I hate it. You know they’re only going to screw the country and line their already fat pockets.

If I had my way, I’d never vote. Or, if such an option existed, I’d select “abstain”. The last two times we’ve had elections here in Bangalore, Amit has forced (persuaded would be a nicer word, but less accurate) me to cast my vote. His main argument is that, if I don’t, someone else will vote in my name. My answer to that is: let them. They could hardly do any worse. It’s not as though I have any strong conviction about who should – or even for that matter who shouldn’t – come to power. Any which way, it’s going to be a bunch of scoundrels.

I let myself be persuaded only because I learnt in Civics when I was 10 that it is every citizen’s duty and obligation to vote.

Last time, Amit persuaded me to vote BJP and I did, and I deeply regretted it. If I must pick between rogues, at least I should pick those rogues with whose ideology I least disagree.

This time, I was determined to stay away from the polling booth, but Amit, who had just returned from yet another trip abroad, started telling me about this fantastic new party run by a bunch of professionals (doctors, engineers and suchlike) who had radical ideas (hang the rapists and the corrupt; reservations are for trains) and a zany (for want of a better word) manifesto. Though I don’t agree with capital punishment, I figured that voting for such a party was as good a way of expressing my minuscule displeasure as abstaining; and that, moreover, this party hadn’t a hope in hell of coming to power anyway, so they wouldn’t be able to do much harm, but might gain a little motivation from whatever votes they got. So, I decided to go and vote for this party.

Only trouble was, I didn’t know anything about the party apart from its name: Jago

Being too lazy and indifferent to find out, I went to the polling booth expecting to see some list or chart of the various parties. Well, there was a list, but it didn’t list anything called a Jago party. I went into the booth, still hoping this party’s name would figure on the ballot “paper” (it’s a machine now) – but it didn’t.

So, I would up voting for one of the usual thugs. And if those thugs come to power, I know I’m going to hate myself for it. But for now, I have the black mark on the index finger of my left hand that says I did my duty and cast my vote. For whatever that’s worth.

3 Responses to I Hate Elections

  1. Arun says:

    Politicians and their Sins are of old story..
    now, there is a new stuff coming up called ‘Super Indians”..who are loosly coupled with ruling parties but maninly into business! and these super indians are trained to the core on how to suck the indian public without leaving a trace…! you dont even have a choice of voting to select super indians..they just come from no where and start looting all of a sudden even before you realise.. ! 😀

  2. AM says:

    At least you got nail polish for free!!

  3. Siri says:

    I still dont get it- why does every country in the world have politicians running it? I mean, every one of them is corrupt. So does that mean that power corrupts or corrupt people automatically seek and win power? And how in the world do they get to such high positions? And to think that at age 6 I wanted to become ‘just like Indira Gandhi’.

Leave a Reply

