Death-by-chocolate Day

I allow myself only two per year, and this was the second for this year, so it’s kind of a big day for me today. It’s the kind of day you think about, dream about, drool over… until finally you can’t wait any longer. It was supposed to be my end-of-german-class treat to myself, but, as usual, I couldn’t wait any longer, so it became my last-class-before-the-test treat to myself.

Ok, there are some poor, unfortunate souls out there who don’t know what a death by chocolate is. The name gives you an idea, but only a sort of glimmer of an idea, of what this is. You sad, unlucky people are to be pitied.

Death by Chocolate is an offering of Corner House, a famous ice cream parlour in Bangalore. I would go so far as to say that Corner House on its own is one heck of a reason to visit – if not move to – Bangalore. But then, that’s just me. I, as you would’ve guessed by now if you didn’t already know it – loooooooove ice cream.

For ice cream freaks like me, there’s ice cream, and then there’s Corner House. Corner House is to ice cream what Rolls Royce used to be to cars – the best of the best.

I’ve heard (sacreligious though it may sound) some people criticize Corner House on the grounds that their ice cream is not so good. What I have to say to them is that, it’s not about the ice cream, it’s about all the stuff you can do with it. There’s fruit, and then there’s fresh mangoes and fresh strawberries in abundance; there’s nuts, and then there’s great mountains of whole roasted almonds; there’s coffee, or something vaguely reminiscent of it, and then there’s a coffee sauce so potent that it could keep you awake for a week, if you’re susceptible to that sort of thing (I’m not).

And then, there’s death by chocolate.

I know lots of people who can’t get through it, and some who are sickened by the thought or sight of it. These could even be people who ordinarily like ice cream and chocolate.

What is it? Well, it’s a sort of magical creation of rich, gooey, chocolate cake, covered with a layer of thick, gooey, oversweet chocolate sauce, underlaid with a load of vanilla ice cream and topped with a load of nuts (primarily, unfortunately, peanuts!) and a couple of cherries just to add some colour. Sounds deadly, no?

And if you’re thinking, well, that’s just a sort of Sundae, let me tell you, it’s the sort of sundae that comes in a veritable bucket. You almost need a shovel to get to the bottom of it. You’ve got to be a pretty staunch supporter of chocolate, ice cream, and goo to ever get to the bottom of it at all.

On a good day, I can get through two of these monstrosities. Why ever not – you can only die once anyway! Sadly, the ever-expanding waistline has forced me to limit my indulgence to two DBCs – as they are fondly called – per year, and in order to maximise my returns, I try to spread this quota evenly around the year. Which mean, this being August, that I now have to wait all the way till my birthday in February for my next date with DBC.

Which is sad… but hey, it’s a good day!

Leave a Reply

